Reference is made in the Exon Domesday records from 1086 to the manor of Lovapit being one of four manors (now the village of LUPPITT). The exact age of Dolish Farmhouse is uncertain. However there is an entry from the ‘Devon Parishes’ record of 1606 listing “Doldiche” as one of several properties of more than 54 acres required to pay a levy towards church maintenance. The tithe map of 1842 shows Dolish Farm then comprising over 195 acres. Dolish has clearly been an established and important dwelling and one of the main working farms in the Luppitt valley for the past several centuries. A fascinating history of Luppitt from Domesday to the present day including many photographs has been compiled from notes by John Sage, a churchwarden in the parish for over 60 years. A website has been set up by the Luppitt local history group which gives a great insight into the parish past and present.
The farm was in the same family ownership for 80 years up until 2008. It is a fine example of a Devon farmstead, complete with an extensive range of traditional stone farm buildings including former Threshing Barn, Stable Barn & Wagon House. There is a cobbled entrance yard and a rear enclosed partly cobbled yard. The buildings around the rear yard included Shippons for cattle and the former Dairy, Cider House, Washhouse and Creamery.
If you are interested in seeing the renovations we have carried out over the last 2 years, click here